Lovely Lemony Salmon, Spinach & Courgette Spaghetti

Can I just start by saying thank you so much to those of you who have sent me such lovely messages over the last few weeks. It has been wonderful to hear from you. Knowing that what I have been writing has been going down so well means so much to me and, more importantly, that you are loving the recipes I have been sharing has made making the time to do this so worthwhile. I’ve been grinning like a Cheshire cat!  Please get in touch with me if you are looking for ideas and I’ll try and help. I’m working on breakfast inspiration now at the request of a few of you. If you could, please all follow my blog, by clicking the ‘follow’ button on my Word Press page, I would really appreciate it!

We have had a lovely few days celebrating Reuben’s 1st Birthday. We had a fab party in the garden with our family and friends, we were so lucky to have the sun shining! He turned 1 on Friday, and it was so strange lying in bed and thinking back to last year. He woke at 5am Friday morning, so I went in to put his dummy back in. As I walked out I managed a little chuckle to myself thinking that at that point last year I was completely off it on gas and air, biting down so hard on the tube that I now have a clicky jaw as a result (as diagnosed by the dentist!) and eyeballing Jack because he was trying to take it away from me! Nothing was coming between me and my gas and air, it was bloody good stuff!!

Anyway, back to food chat. I made a few bits and bobs for Reubs party on Saturday. The fruit skewers went down a treat with the kids, it’s mad how just putting fruit on a stick makes it so delicious and exciting for them. I was wondering if it would work as well with veggies…probably not!

I also whipped up a delicious avocado dip, which was a few simple ingredients blitzed. You can make it within 5 mins, it’s just:

2 Avos

1tbsp crème fraiche

1 garlic clove

Sprinkle Salt

Few turns of Pepper

Squeeze of Lemon juice

  • Throw it all into your mini blender and blitz, job done!

You have to try it, it’s so good for little ones to dip veggies or bread sticks into. I spread it onto cucumber and slices of bread for Reuben. It will also work really well in a wrap/pitta/sandwich with chicken/halloumi salad for the family lunch boxes. It just jazzes up a boring sandwich, and you up the nutrition levels!

The main recipe today was born from needing to use up stuff in the fridge! I had a salmon fillet, crème fraiche and a courgette left over from the weekend, so I decided to make a pasta dish for Jack and Reuben out of it, nothing super creative but it’s saved waste and tastes good! The good thing about this dish is that you can use freezer stuff here too. If you don’t have courgette or fresh spinach, just use frozen peas and frozen spinach. They work perfectly well and they are always there when you need them! I would be lost without my freezer, I throw everything in there! Herbs, chillies, ginger, wine, stock, veggies, you name it…it goes in! I’d really recommend you always have peas, spinach, butternut squash and frozen berries stashed in there.

 IMG_4007.JPG

Lovely Lemony Salmon, Spinach & Courgette spaghetti.

*Makes 4-5 baby portions, 2 kids portions, or 1 adult and 1 baby portion. Suitable for freezing, and re-heating. Safe in an air tight container in the fridge for 2 days. Suitable from 7 months*

You will need:

1 salmon fillet

½ courgette, finely diced

70g wholegrain or brown rice pasta/spaghetti

1 garlic clove

3 tbsp crème fraiche

2 chunks frozen spinach, defrosted in the microwave & water squeezed out.

1 tsp lemon zest & squeeze of the juice

 

All you need to do is: 

  1. Cook the pasta per the packet guidelines.
  2. Pan fry the salmon fillet in a small dash of oil for a few minutes either side until cooked. Remove from the pan and put to one side.
  3. Fry the chopped courgette, crushed garlic & spinach on a medium heat for 5 mins or until the courgette has softened. Flake the salmon back into the pan and stir in the crème fraiche to warm up.
  4. Drain the pasta and tip into the pan with the rest of the ingredients and give it all a good stir. Grate over the lemon zest, squeeze of the juice and you’re ready to serve.
  5. If serving to under 1’s don’t add any seasoning and chop up small. For older children, you can add a little salt and pepper. If for adults, season to your liking.

 

You can double or even triple this recipe so that it serves more people, you can make this dish work for you by adding extras or taking things away, it’s quite versatile. You could use smoked salmon or mackerel. You could alter the veggies you use or even add in a few extra herbs.

I hope you all have a great week ahead. As always, please tag me if you upload any photos of food you’ve made from the blog, I absolutely love seeing them! I’m off for a nice relaxing bath…I’m still feeling a bit sensitive from too many cocktails last night!

Julia x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

